And the Lord God said, “It is not good that man should be alone;
I will make him a helper comparable to him.”
Genesis 2:18

Four Types of LOVE from admin's blog


Ancient Greeks had four words to describe different forms of love: Eros – marital love, Storge – family love, Phileo – brotherly love and Agape – sacrificial, unconditional love. 

1.       Eros

It's passionate, it's rapturous, it's euphoric, sexual type of love. It is important within a marriage relationship.

2.       Storge

 An affectionate love that grows slowly out of friendship and is based more on similar interests and commitment to one another rather than on passion. It is Familial love. 

Loyalty flourishes with this form of love. 

3.       Phileo

It is brotherly love and is most often exhibited in a close friendship.  It involves feelings of warmth and affection toward another person.  Best friends will display this generous and affectionate love for each other as each seeks to make the other happy.

4.       Agape

 The most powerful, noblest type of love: sacrificial love.  It is more than a feeling—it is an act of the will. This is the love that God has for His people and that prompted the sacrifice of His only Son, Jesus, for our sins.  Jesus was agape love personified.

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. 1 John 4:7

Remember: Walk in LOVE, not just on Valentine’s Day but every day.

Previous post     
     Next post
     Blog home

The Wall

No comments
You need to sign in to comment

Be Wise

Interact with members who have verified photo status .
Verify your photo. Receive a verification badge, free of charge!

Food for the Spirit

Be still and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations. I will be exalted throughout the earth.

Psalm 46:10 (NKJV)



Password protected photo
Password protected photo
Password protected photo